THE JOY OF AN ORDERLY HOME

RITOCCATA p1140969

To live in the midst of disorder is disorientating. A real home is a self-contained place where everything works for the benefit of those who live within its walls.

RITOCCATA p1140966

The easiest way to bring order into a home is to get organized, and the first step for creating a comfortable heaven is to identify the specific aspects of home life that will thrive the most from good care and attention. If I said it’s the easiest, it doesn’t mean it’s the quickest. For instance I happen to spend a great deal of time experimenting with things – moving and swopping objects on a shelf – trying to find the perfect position for each item. I have changed three times the arrangement of this cupboard (above). At first I put white porcelain only, then, I wanted to enrich it with a touch of blue to give more character to the composition. In the end I found, if not the perfect solution, at least one that was both practical for everyday’s use and pleasing to the eye.

RITOCCATA screen-shot-2012-10-13-at-11-50-16-pm

Every corner of this house has been studied in details. Home decoration is a never-ending process of transformation . None of the elements finds peace until I’m not convinced completely. I may sound too demanding but the quest for constant improvement has its own reward.

RITOCCATA screen-shot-2012-09-20-at-12-03-26-am

What I look for is harmony, balance, taste and elegance, always keeping in mind the soul of the house I’m decorating. The process is time consuming but, on the other hand, a bit of love and commitment can give you great results. Moreover, I believe there’s no need to spend a fortune to give your house that extra, special touch. Quite the opposite, indeed. It’s true that money doesn’t buy taste, but it can always pay the best architects and interior designers. But if you need to respect a budget, money is not the issue.

RITOCCATA screen-shot-2012-10-15-at-12-42-39-am

The kitchen as seen from the lacy window curtain.

2 responses to “THE JOY OF AN ORDERLY HOME

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here from a
    different website and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second
    time.

Leave a Reply

